Democritus University of Thrace

ECHE Number:29115-EPP-1-2014-1-GR-EPPKA3-ECHE

Erasmus Code: G KOMOTIN01

Organisation ID: E10208305

PIC number: 999659109

Democritus University of Thrace (DUTH), founded in Komotini in 1973, is named after Democritus, the great philosopher, born in Avdera, Thrace.

As an Institution of Higher Education, Democritus University of Thrace is a Public Institution with full administrative autonomy. It is subject to state supervision via the Ministry of Education and Religious Affairs, which also provides its funding.

Starting its educational and scientific work in 1974, the University has built up by today 20 Departments grouped into 8 Faculties, in four neighbouring cities:

Campus at Komotini

Faculty of Law:

Faculty of Physical Education and Sport Science:

Faculty of Classical Studies and Humanities:

Faculty of Social, Political and Economic Sciences:

Campus at Xanthi

Faculty of Engineering:

Campus at Alexandroupolis

Faculty of Health Sciences:

Faculty of Educational Sciences:

Campus at Orestiada

Faculty of Agriculture and Forestry: